Last month active members of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) received information in the mail for the 2009-2010 Board of Directors election, including a letter from President Mary Susan Esther, MD, and a ballot with the slate of candidates. A total of 1,045 ballots were returned; the results of the election have been tabulated and the slate of candidates was approved by a clear majority of respondents:

Candidate Position Vote Percentage
Patrick Strollo Jr., MD President-Elect 92.82%
Steven Shea, PhD Director 89.38%
Timothy Morgenthaler, MD Director 86.41%
Nathaniel Watson, MD Director 84.21%

The AASM thanks all members who voted in the election for their participation in this important activity of our association.