About American Academy of Sleep Medicine

Mission | What We Do

Advancing sleep care and enhancing sleep health to improve lives.

Vision | Our Impact

Sleep and circadian care is fundamental to health care.

Core Values | Who We Are

  • Patient-focused
  • Member-driven
  • Adaptable
  • Diverse & Inclusive
  • Evidence-Based
  • Forward-Thinking

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

The American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) recognizes that the diversity of its community – including its members, leadership, and staff – is a vital component of the AASM’s mission: Advancing sleep care and enhancing sleep health to improve lives. We are committed to maintaining an inclusive space by respecting and celebrating our unique attributes, backgrounds, and perspectives. To build a strong community, the AASM is devoted to providing a welcoming environment in which diverse opinions, experiences, and viewpoints are appreciated, and every individual feels a sense of belonging. We value equity and seek to provide opportunities for all while striving to identify and eliminate barriers to inclusion. Recognizing that sleep is essential to health, we will work with stakeholders, policymakers, and the public to reduce sleep health disparities.


Established in 1975 as the Association of Sleep Disorders Centers, the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) is the only professional society dedicated exclusively to the medical subspecialty of sleep medicine.

As the leading voice in the sleep field, the AASM sets standards and promotes excellence in sleep medicine health care, education, and research.  The AASM has a combined membership of 11,000 accredited member sleep centers and individual members, including physicians, scientists, and other health care professionals. Learn more about our AASM memberships now!


The current Bylaws of the AASM were adopted by AASM voting members in March 2024.

AASM Bylaws

Board of Directors


Eric J. Olson, MD

Anita V. Shelgikar, MD, MHPE

James A. Rowley, MD
Immediate Past President

Fariha Abbasi-Feinberg, MD


Anuja Bandyopadhyay, MBBS, MD Vishesh K. Kapur, MD, MPH Lynn Marie Trotti, MD, MSc
Alexandre Rocha Abreu, MD David Kuhlmann, MD Emerson M. Wickwire, PhD
Indira Gurubhagavatula, MD, MPH Susheel Patil, MD, PhD

Executive Director

Steve Van Hout

Communications to the AASM Board of Directors may be directed to the national office at contact@aasm.org.

1975–1987 William C. Dement, MD, PhD

1987–1988 Thomas Roth, PhD

1988–1989 Philip R. Westbrook, MD

1989–1990 Howard R. Roffwarg, MD

1990–1991 Jon F. Sassin, MD

1991–1992 James K. Walsh, PhD

1992–1993 Mark W. Mahowald, MD

1993–1994 Meir H. Kryger, MD

1994–1995 Paul A. Fredrickson, MD

1995–1996 June M. Fry, MD, PhD

1996–1997  David P. White, MD

1997–1998  Wolfgang W. Schmidt-Nowara, MD

1998–1999 Gihan A. Kader, MD

1999–2000 Stuart F. Quan, MD

2000–2001 Daniel J. Buysse, MD

2001–2002 John W. Shepard, Jr., MD

2002–2003 Andrew  L.  Chesson,  Jr.,  MD

2003–2004 Conrad Iber, MD

2004–2005 Michael J. Sateia, MD

2005–2006 Lawrence J. Epstein, MD

2006–2007 Michael H. Silber, MBChB

2007–2008 Alejandro D. Chediak, MD

2008–2009 Mary Susan Esther, MD

2009–2010 Clete Kushida, MD, PhD

2010–2011 Patrick Strollo Jr., MD

2011–2012 Nancy Collop, MD

2012–2013 Sam Fleishman, MD

2013–2014 M. Safwan Badr, MD

2014–2015 Timothy Morgenthaler, MD

2015–2016 Nathaniel F. Watson, MD, MS

2016-2017 Ronald D. Chervin, MD, MS

2017-2018 Ilene M. Rosen, MD, MS

2018-2019 Douglas Kirsch, MD

2019-2020 Kelly Carden, MD, MBA

2020-2021 Kannan Ramar, MD

2021-2022 Raman Malhotra, MD

2022-2023 Jennifer L. Martin, PhD

2023-2024 James A. Rowley, MD