The Board of Directors selects the annual recipients of the AASM awards, which are presented in June during the plenary session of the SLEEP annual meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies LLC (APSS).

Download the 2018 AASM Awards Brochure

Established in 1981, the Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award honors individuals dedicated to the sleep field who have made significant contributions in the areas of administration, public relations and government affairs. One of the world’s eminent sleep scientists, Nathaniel Kleitman formed the foundation for many areas of current sleep medicine by conducting groundbreaking research that included studies of REM sleep, circadian rhythms and the effect of drugs on sleep. Through his inventiveness and achievement, Dr. Kleitman left a vast impression on the sleep medicine field.

2018 Recipient: Jack D. Edinger, PhD

Dr. Edinger is an insomnia specialist at National Jewish Health in Denver, Colorado. He holds an adjunct professor status at Duke University Medical Center, in Durham, North Carolina. Edinger has more than 36 years of clinical and research experience with insomnia and other patients with sleep disorders. He is a prolific clinical researcher who currently has more than 300 publications in the form of journal articles, abstracts and book chapters.

2017 David F. Dinges, PhD

2016 Jerome A. Barrett

2015 Nancy A. Collop, MD

2014 Alejandro Chediak, MD

2013 Clete Kushida, MD, PhD, RPSGT, RST

2012 Lawrence Epstein, MD

2011 Ronald R. Grunstein, MD

2010 Michael H. Silber, MBChB

2009 Michael J. Sateia, MD

2008 Conrad Iber, MD

2007 Andrew L. Chesson Jr., MD

2006 John Shepard Jr., MD

2005 Stuart Quan, MD

2004 Daniel J. Buysse, MD

2003 Wolfgang Schmidt-Nowara, MD

2002 Thomas Hobbins, MD

2001 J. Christian Gillin, MD

2000 David P. White, MD

1999 Jon F. Sassin, MD

1998 Mark Mahowald, MD

1997 Paul A. Fredrickson, MD

1996 Allan I. Pack, MB, ChB, PhD

1995 James K. Walsh, PhD

1994 Richard Ferber, MD

1993 Michael Thorpy, MD

1992 Philip Westbrook, MD

1991 Mary Carskadon, PhD

1990 Thomas Roth, PhD

1989 Peter Hauri, PhD

1988 Helmet Schmidt, MD and Helio Lemmi, MD

1987 William C. Dement, MD, PhD

1986 Christian Guilleminault, MD

1985 Allan Rechtschaffen, PhD

1984 Mitchell Balter, PhD and Merrill Mitler, PhD

1983 Elliot Weitzman, MD

1982 William C. Dement, MD, PhD

1981 Ismet Karacan, MD and Howard Roffwarg, MD

Established in 1994, the William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award recognizes members of the sleep field who have displayed exceptional initiative and progress in the areas of sleep education and academic research. The award’s namesake, William C. Dement, MD, PhD, is one of the nation’s leading sleep researchers. His extensive publication of research, studies of REM sleep and development of the Multiple Sleep Latency Test greatly advanced the sleep medicine field. The William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award embodies the pursuit of knowledge, a commitment to teaching and an unceasing quest to disseminate truth.

2018 Recipient: Naresh M. Punjabi, MD, PhD

Dr. Punjabi is a professor of medicine and epidemiology at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland. Supported by grants from the National Institutes of Health, his research focuses on the epidemiology of sleep apnea with an emphasis on defining the etiological links to insulin resistance, type 2 diabetes mellitus and cardiovascular disease.

2017 Susan Redline, MD, MPH

2016 Carol A. Landis, PhD, RN, FAAN

2015 Carole L. Marcus, MBBCh

2014 Phyllis Zee, MD, PhD

2013 David Gozal, MD

2012 John Stradling, MD

2011 Mark H. Sanders, MD

2010 Stuart F. Quan, MD

2009 David P. White, MD

2008 Terry Young, MS, PhD

2007 Mark Mahowald, MD and Carlos Schenck, MD

2006 Robert W. McCarley, MD

2005 Jerome Siegel, PhD

2004 David F. Dinges, PhD

2003 Elio Lugaresi, MD

2002 Charles Czeisler, MD, PhD

2001 Allan Pack, MB, ChB, PhD

2000 Emmanuel Mignot, MD, PhD

1999 Wallace B. Mendelson, MD

1998 Michael S. Aldrich, MD

1997 Roger J. Broughton, MD, PhD

1996 Meir Kryger, MD

1995 Christian Guilleminault, MD

1994 William C. Dement, MD, PhD

Established in 2002, the Excellence in Education Award is presented to those individuals who have made outstanding contributions in the teaching of sleep medicine. The award serves to recognize and honor dedicated individuals who have skillfully taught and enhanced the knowledge of professional and lay people in the areas of sleep and sleep medicine.

2018 Recipient: Kingman P. Strohl, MD

Dr. Strohl is a professor of medicine, director of the Center for Sleep Disorders Research, and director of the sleep fellowship program at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio. He is affiliated with the Sleep Centers at the Louis Stokes Cleveland DVA Medical Center and University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center. Strohl has served the AASM as a committee chair in education, clinical testing and clinical research.

2017 Michael H. Silber, MBChB, FAASM

2016 Neil Freedman, MD and Richard S. Rosenberg, PhD

2015 Patrick J. Strollo, Jr., MD

2014 Alon Y. Avidan, MD, MPH

2013 Suresh Kotagal, MD

2012 Teofilo L. Lee-Chiong, Jr., MD

2011 Barbara Phillips, MD, MSPH, FCCP

2010 Richard B. Berry, MD

2009 James A. Rowley, MD

2008 Michael R. Littner, MD

2007 Vernon Pegram, MD

2006 Judith A. Owens, MD, MPH

2004 Meir Kryger, MD, FRCPC and Marvin R. Dunn, MD (posthumous)

2002 Richard Ferber, MD

Established in 1996, the Mark O. Hatfield Public Policy or Advocacy Award acknowledges an individual who has developed public policy that positively affects the healthy sleep of all Americans. This contribution is unique yet vital to the advancement of the field. U.S. Senator Mark O. Hatfield (R-Ore.) continually supported sleep medicine initiatives and policy until his death at the age of 89 years in 2011. His work on behalf of the field was instrumental at increasing NIH funding for sleep, raising public awareness of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), establishing the National Center on Sleep Disorders Research, and supporting the nationally recognized sleep disorders research at the Oregon Health & Science University. Sen. Hatfield also chaired the Transportation Appropriations Subcommittee, introducing the driver fatigue initiative, which passed in 1995.

2018 Recipient: Arianna Huffington

Arianna Huffington is the founder of The Huffington Post, the founder and CEO of Thrive Global, and the author of 15 books, including, most recently, Thrive and The Sleep Revolution. In August 2016, she launched Thrive Global, a corporate and consumer well-being and productivity platform with the mission of changing the way we work and live by ending the collective delusion that burnout is the price we must pay for success.

2017 Anne Ferro

2016 Janet B. Croft, PhD

2015 Michael J. Twery, PhD

2014 Wayne H. Giles, MD, MS

2013 Rita Brooks, RST, RPSGT

2012 Judith A. Owens, MD, MPH

2011 Mark R. Rosekind, PhD

2010 Charles A. Czeisler, MD, PhD

2009 Alejandro Chediak, MD

2008 Neil B. Kavey, MD

2007 Paul Fredrickson, MD and Andrew O. Jamieson, MD

2006 R. Bart Sangal, MD

2005 Claude Lenfant, MD

2004 Not Awarded

2003 Mark Mahowald, MD and Mary Carskadon, PhD

2002 Not Awarded

2001 David Dinges, PhD

2000 Rep. John E. Porter

1999 James Kiley, PhD

1998 James K. Walsh, PhD

1997 William C. Dement, MD, PhD

1996 Sen. Mark Hatfield