Maintenance of Certification (MOC) for Sleep Medicine Physicians

The American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) on-demand MOC is a recertification solution that meets the requirements of leading medical boards and is tailored to the needs of sleep medicine physicians. Earn continuing medical education (CME) credits while working toward your MOC.

MOC On-Demand — FREE to AASM Members!

Self-Assessment Exams are self-directed, giving you the freedom to learn where and when you choose. Each exam contains multiple-choice, case-based questions written by board-certified sleep medicine physicians.

Approved by Leading Boards

The AASM MOC self-assessments have been approved by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) and the American Board of Pediatrics (ABP) to meet Part II requirements, and by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN) for self-assessment CME. AASM MOC is currently only for physicians boarded under the ABIM, ABP, and the ABPN.

Upon completion of each MOC activity, the AASM will automatically submit a notification to the appropriate board for your convenience.

Earn Free MOC Points

Boards that Offer Sleep Medicine Certification

All six boards that offer sleep medicine certification require MOC for recertification, including American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM), American Board of Otolaryngology (ABOto) and American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA).  The specific deadlines and requirements to meet these components vary by board.  Please visit your primary specialty board for specific information.


“I’m board certified by the American Board of Sleep Medicine (ABSM); what are the requirements for MOC?”

The ABSM Sleep Medicine Certification is a lifetime certification and does not require any maintenance of certification. If you are certified under the ABSM along with another board(s), please confirm with your board whether it has additional MOC requirements.

“If I’m board certified in sleep medicine, do I have to maintain my primary specialty, to maintain my sleep certification?”

Only those physicians certified by ABPN or ABFM need to maintain their primary certification in order to maintain their secondary sleep certification. All other boards allow maintenance of only your secondary sleep certification.

“What are the different components of MOC?”

There are four components to MOC. The specific deadlines and requirements to meet these components vary by board. Please visit your primary specialty board for specifics. This program is only approved by the ABIM and ABP to meet Part II requirements, and the ABPN for Self-Assessment CME.

  • Part I: Professional Standing
    Physicians must hold a valid, unrestricted medical license in at least one state or jurisdiction in the United States, its territories or Canada.
  • Part II: Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment
    Physicians participate in educational and self-assessment programs that meet specialty-specific standards that are set by their member board.
  • Part III: Cognitive Expertise
    Physicians demonstrate, through formalized examination, that they have the fundamental, practice-related and practice environment-related knowledge to provide quality care in their specialty.
  • Part IV: Practice Performance Assessment
    Physicians are evaluated in their clinical practice according to specialty-specific standards for patient care. They are asked to demonstrate that they can assess the quality of care they provide compared to peers and national benchmarks and then apply the best evidence or consensus recommendations to improve that care using follow-up assessments.

“What is the AASM doing to advocate for sleep physicians who are frustrated with MOC requirements?”

Learn more about how the AASM is involved in MOC Advocacy.