Each year the AASM Awards recognize several leaders in sleep medicine who have made significant contributions to both the AASM and the sleep field. The AASM congratulates the following recipients of the 2011 AASM Awards:

  • Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award: Ronald R. Grunstein, MD
  • William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award: Mark H. Sanders, MD
  • Mark O. Hatfield Public Policy Award: Mark R. Rosekind, PhD
  • Excellence in Education Award: Barbara Phillips, MD, MSPH

The 2011 AASM Awards Ceremony will take place Monday, June 13, 2011, in Minneapolis, Minn., during the plenary session of SLEEP 2011, the 25th Anniversary Meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies LLC.