The American Academy of Sleep Medicine congratulates the members who were elected to positions of leadership during the 2024 AASM leadership election, including Anita Shelgikar, MD, MHPE, FAASM, who was elected as the 2024 – 2025 president-elect, and Fariha Abbasi-Feinberg, MD, FAASM, who was elected as secretary/treasurer.

Anuja Bandyopadhyay, MD, FAASM, was elected to serve as a director, and two directors were elected for reappointment for another term: Alexandre Abreu, MD, FAASM, and Lynn Marie Trotti, MD, MSc, FAASM. Fauziya Hassan, MD, MS, was elected as an at-large member of the Nominating Committee, which has been reorganized as the Leadership Development Committee.

These leaders were nominated by the board of directors following their recommendation by the Nominating Committee, and they were elected by voting members. Their terms will commence Monday, June 3, during the AASM annual membership meeting, when the current president-elect, Eric Olson, MD, FAASM, will become the 2024 – 2025 AASM president.

In addition to electing these leaders, the voting members also approved revisions to the AASM bylaws. The AASM thanks all members who participated in the leadership election and bylaws vote.

Election Results


Anita V. Shelgikar, MD, MHPE, FAASM, professor of neurology at the University of Michigan Medical School and program director for the sleep medicine fellowship


Fariha Abbasi-Feinberg, MD, FAASM, medical director of sleep medicine for Millennium Physician Group, a multi-specialty practice based in Fort Myers Florida


Alexandre R. Abreu, MD, FAASM, clinical associate professor of medicine at the University of Miami, where he serves as program director for the sleep medicine fellowship and medical director of the UHealth Sleep Program

Anuja Bandyopadhyay, MD, FAASM, assistant professor in the department of clinical pediatrics at Indiana University School of Medicine in Indianapolis

Lynn Marie Trotti, MD, MSc, FAASM, associate professor of neurology at Emory University in Atlanta, where she serves as assistant program director for the sleep medicine fellowship

Leadership Development Committee At-Large Member

Fauziya Hassan, MD, MS, clinical professor in the department of pediatrics at the University of Michigan, where she serves as service chief for the division of pediatric pulmonary

View the roster of the current AASM board of directors on the about page of the AASM website.