DARIEN, IL – The American Academy of Sleep Medicine congratulates the three students selected as the winners of the 2024 AASM “Sleep for Success” High School Video Contest. The contest focused on helping teens understand why sleep is important to their success either in school, health, safety, sports, relationships, or another area of life.

More than 70 video entries were submitted by high school students from across the U.S. Each entry was evaluated by a set of judges for creativity, including its originality and video quality, as well as how informative it was, including the appropriateness, relevance and accuracy of its message, consistent with the mission and vision of the AASM.

“Healthy sleep is essential for students’ success in every area of their lives,” said AASM President Dr. James A. Rowley. “This contest allows high school students to creatively spread this message to their peers in hopes of improving their sleep habits and success in life.”

Submissions were evaluated in three different categories: Most Creative, Most Informative, and Most Popular. Most Creative was reviewed by a panel of experts representing various creative fields. Most Informative was reviewed by a panel of sleep medicine experts who are AASM members. Most Popular was determined by social media engagement in the month following the close of the contest.  Each winner will receive $750, and the teacher associated with the entry will receive a $100 gift card.

Along with a balanced diet and regular exercise, sleep is one of the pillars of a healthy lifestyle. Getting sufficient sleep on a regular basis is essential for health, well-being, and mood. The AASM recommends that teens between 13 and 18 years of age should sleep 8 to 10 hours per night on a regular basis to promote optimal health.


Most Creative
Flora Yuan, 9th grade
Krista Andrew Fischer, teacher
Westlake High school
Westlake Village, California

Most Informative
Shreya Balaji, 12th grade
Cheryl Abreu, teacher
Coppell High School
Coppell, Texas

Most Popular
Wilfred Shipley, 9th grade
Robin Morriss, teacher
Winston Churchill High School
San Antonio, Texas

The following students received honorable mention as the runner up in each of the three categories:

Most Creative – Honorable Mention
John Exterkamp

Most Informative – Honorable Mention
Flora Yuan

Most Popular – Honorable Mention
Santiago Wingrove

Get more information about the AASM High School Video Contest, and view winning videos from previous years, by visiting the Sleep Education website.

About the American Academy of Sleep Medicine

Established in 1975, the AASM advances sleep care and enhances sleep health to improve lives. The AASM has a combined membership of 12,000 accredited sleep centers and individuals, including physicians, scientists and other health care professionals who care for patients with sleep disorders. As the leader in the sleep field, the AASM sets standards and promotes excellence in sleep medicine health care, education, and research.