The American Academy of Sleep Medicine congratulates Susan M. Harding, MD, FAASM, who was named the 2024 recipient of the Stuart Quan Award for Editorial Excellence, which recognizes the outstanding work of an associate editor of the Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine.

“Receiving the Stuart Quan Award for Editorial Excellence from the AASM is super humbling, especially since Dr. Quan was my mentor when sleep medicine was developing into a new specialty. Working with Dr. Collop since 1999 on many national sleep medicine initiatives, including her leadership as editor-in-chief of JCSM, makes this honor even more special,” said Dr. Harding. “Serving as an editorial board member since volume 1, number 1 in 2005 and an associate editor since 2011, I witnessed the JCSM blossom into an outstanding journal publishing sleep clinical science almost immediately translatable to patient care. I sincerely appreciate the diligent work of the reviewers, editorial board, Rosanne Money in the editorial office, and Dr. Collop whose efforts are critical to the journal’s success.”

Dr. Harding was selected by JCSM editor-in-chief Dr. Nancy Collop and will be recognized during the upcoming annual meeting of the JCSM editorial board, which will be held Tuesday, June 4, during SLEEP 2024 in Houston.

Dr. Harding is a Fellow of the AASM and has been a member since 1995. Her service to the AASM includes being chair of the Medical School Education Committee, member of the American Board of Sleep Medicine, the Academic Affairs Committee, and the Scoring Manual Committee. She currently is Professor Emeritus of Medicine in Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. She has served as Medical Director of the UAB Sleep Wake Disorders Center for 19 years and developed  UAB’s Sleep Medicine Fellowship, training 30 sleep medicine fellows. Her research interests include sleep-related gastroesophageal reflux, comorbidities of obstructive sleep apnea including resistant hypertension and hyper aldosteronism, and sleep medicine education.

The Quan Award is named in honor of JCSM founding editor Dr. Stuart Quan, who served as editor-in-chief from 2005 – 2014. Previous recipients are listed on the AASM awards page.

The primary responsibility of associate editors is to make editorial decisions on manuscripts assigned to them by the editor. This work includes managing reviews by members of the editorial board and external reviewers, making initial publication decisions, and submitting recommendations for editorials.

The AASM is seeking manuscript reviewers for the Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine. More information is available on the volunteer opportunities page.