The American Academy of Sleep Medicine Awards Advisory Panel will accept nominations for AASM awards through Nov. 27, 2022. The awards recognize leaders who have made singular contributions to the AASM and the fields of sleep medicine and sleep and circadian research.

Award recipients will be recognized in June during the plenary session at the SLEEP 2023 annual meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies (APSS) in Indianapolis.

Nominations are being accepted for the following awards:

  • Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award
  • William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award
  • Excellence in Education Award
  • Mark O. Hatfield Public Policy or Advocacy Award

Complete details about each award and the nomination, review and selection process are available on the AASM award nominations page. (You can review a list of previous award recipients by visiting the AASM awards page.) To make a nomination, you must submit the required documentation by Sunday, Nov. 27, 2022.

Questions about the award nomination process can be sent to