AASM Award Nominations

The AASM Awards Advisory Panel will accept nominations for AASM awards from Oct. 24 through Nov. 27, 2022. AASM awards recognize outstanding contributions to the field of sleep medicine. The award information, nomination process, application requirements, and Awards Advisory Panel review process are outlined below. Award recipients will be recognized during the plenary session at SLEEP 2023 in June.

AASM Awards

Established in 1981, the Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award is the premier award of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine. It honors individuals dedicated to the sleep field who have made significant contributions to sleep medicine. As one of the world’s eminent sleep scientists, Nathaniel Kleitman formed the foundation for many areas of current sleep medicine by conducting groundbreaking research that included studies of REM sleep, circadian rhythms and the effect of drugs on sleep. Through his inventiveness and achievement, Dr. Kleitman left a vast impression on the sleep medicine field.

The William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award, established in 1994, recognizes members of the sleep field who have displayed exceptional initiative and progress in the areas of sleep academic research. The award’s namesake, William C. Dement, MD, PhD, was one of the nation’s leading sleep researchers. His extensive publication of research, work with REM sleep and development of the Multiple Sleep Latency Test has greatly advanced the sleep medicine field. The William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award embodies the pursuit of knowledge and an unceasing quest to disseminate truth.

Established in 2002, the AASM Award for Excellence in Education is presented to those individuals who have made outstanding contributions in sleep medicine education. The award serves to recognize and honor dedicated individuals who have skillfully enhanced the knowledge of professional and/or lay people in the area of sleep and sleep medicine or have made major contributions to the development of training programs or certification processes.

(Name changed in 2012 from Mark O. Hatfield Public Policy Award)

The Mark O. Hatfield Public Policy or Advocacy Award, established in 1996, acknowledges an individual who has developed or publicized significant initiatives that enhance healthy sleep or prevent sleep deprivation of Americans. Retired United States Senator Mark O. Hatfield (R-Ore.) has continually supported sleep medicine initiatives and policy. His work on behalf of the field has been instrumental in increasing NIH funding for sleep, increasing public awareness of sudden infant death syndrome, establishing the National Center on Sleep Disorders Research, and supporting the nationally recognized sleep disorders research at the Oregon Health Science University. Sen. Hatfield also chaired the transportation appropriations subcommittee, and in that capacity, he introduced the driver fatigue initiative, which passed in 1995.

How to Nominate a Colleague

Those interested in nominating an individual for an award must submit the following documentation to the AASM Awards Advisory Panel for consideration. Multiple individuals may sign one nomination letter.

The required documentation must be submitted to awards@aasm.org by Sunday, Nov. 27, 2022.

AASM Awards Advisory Panel Process (What Happens Next)

The AASM Awards Advisory Panel meets to review the nominees and carefully consider all applications in relation to the special attributes of each award, as well as diversity of areas of interest, gender, geography, race, and practice type so that the award recipients reflect the richness and diversity of the field of sleep medicine. Upon completion of their deliberation, the AASM Awards Advisory Panel recommends the names of the final candidate(s) to the AASM Board of Directors.

What is the AASM Awards Advisory Panel?

The AASM Awards Advisory Panel was formed to assist the Board of Directors in creating a fair, equitable, and transparent process for selecting AASM award recipients.

For additional information please visit AASM Awards or email awards@aasm.org.