The American Academy of Sleep Medicine congratulates the members who were elected to positions of leadership during the 2022 AASM leadership election, including James Rowley, MD, who was elected as the 2022 – 2023 president-elect, and Eric Olson, MD, who was elected as secretary/treasurer.

Emerson Wickwire, PhD, was elected to serve as a director. Shannon Sullivan, MD, was elected as an at-large member of the Nominating Committee.

These leaders were nominated by the board of directors following their recommendation by the Nominating Committee, and they were elected by a vote of the membership. Their terms will commence Monday, June 6, during the AASM annual membership meeting, when the current president-elect, Jennifer Martin, PhD, will become the 2022 – 2023 AASM president.

The AASM thanks all members who participated in the leadership election.

Election Results


James A. Rowley, MD, FAASM, professor of medicine at Wayne State University School of Medicine, division chief of pulmonary/critical care and sleep medicine, program director of the pulmonary/critical care fellowship at the Detroit Medical Center, medical director of the Detroit Receiving Hospital Sleep Disorders Center, and chair of the DMC Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee


Eric J. Olson, MD, FAASM, professor of medicine at the Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine and chair of the division of pulmonary/critical care medicine at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota


Emerson M. Wickwire, PhD, FAASM, professor of psychiatry and medicine at the University of Maryland School of Medicine, serving as section head, sleep medicine

Nominating Committee At-Large Member

Shannon S. Sullivan, MD, FAASM, clinical professor at Stanford University in the department of pediatrics, division of pulmonary, asthma and sleep medicine, and by courtesy, the department of psychiatry, division of sleep medicine

View the roster of the current AASM board of directors on the about page of the AASM website.