The American Academy of Sleep Medicine congratulates Sasikanth Gorantla, MD, MS, who was named the 2023 recipient of the Stuart Quan Award for Editorial Excellence, which recognizes the outstanding work of an associate editor of the Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine.

“Receiving the Stuart Quan Award for Editorial Excellence from the AASM is an incredible honor that fills me with humility,” said Dr. Gorantla. “I greatly appreciate the reviewers who supported my work and the mentors who inspired me to excel as a reviewer and editor.”

He was selected by JCSM Editor-in-Chief Dr. Nancy Collop and will be recognized during the upcoming annual meeting of the JCSM editorial board, which will be held Monday, June 5, during the SLEEP 2023 annual meeting in Indianapolis.

Dr. Gorantla, a Fellow of the AASM, has been a member since 2013. He is currently a sleep neurologist at the University of Illinois College of Medicine in Peoria/OSF HealthCare, with an upcoming move to UC Davis planned for June. His clinical and research interests include restless legs syndrome, cognitive and general neurology, and sleep-wake disorders.

The Quan Award is named in honor of JCSM Founding Editor Dr. Stuart Quan, who served as editor-in-chief from 2005 – 2014. Previous recipients are listed on the AASM awards page.

The primary responsibility of associate editors is to make editorial decisions on manuscripts assigned to them by the editor. This work includes managing reviews by members of the editorial board and external reviewers, making initial publication decisions, and submitting recommendations for editorials.

The AASM is seeking manuscript reviewers for the Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine. More information is available on the volunteer opportunities page.