The American Academy of Sleep Medicine congratulates Ripu D. Jindal, MD, who was named the 2022 recipient of the Stuart Quan Award for Editorial Excellence, which recognizes the outstanding work of an associate editor of the Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine. He was selected by JCSM Editor-in-Chief Dr. Nancy Collop and recognized during the 2022 annual meeting of the JCSM editorial board, held on Tuesday, June 7 in Charlotte, North Carolina during SLEEP 2022.

Dr. Jindal has been a member of the AASM since 2013. He is a staff physician specializing in psychiatry at the Birmingham VA Medical Center in Birmingham, Alabama. His clinical and research interest is managing sleep disturbances in patients with PTSD and traumatic brain injury.

The Quan Award is named in honor of JCSM Founding Editor Dr. Stuart Quan, who served as editor-in-chief from 2005 – 2014. Previous recipients are listed on the AASM awards page.

The primary responsibility of associate editors is to make editorial decisions on manuscripts assigned to them by the editor. This work includes managing reviews by members of the editorial board and external reviewers, making initial publication decisions, and submitting recommendations for editorials.

The AASM is seeking manuscript reviewers for the Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine. More information is available on the volunteer opportunities page.