The AASM congratulates Sleep Research Society President Clifford B. Saper, MD, PhD, and SRS member Amita Sehgal, PhD, who are among the 65 new members elected to the Institute of Medicine.

Established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the IOM is a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on health issues. Election to the IOM recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care and public health.