As recipients of the 2009 American Academy of Sleep Medicine Awards, the following individuals were recognized at SLEEP 2009, the 23rd Annual Meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies (APSS), in Seattle, Wash.

Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award: Michael J. Sateia, MD

William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award: David P. White, MD

Mark O. Hatfield Public Policy Award: Alejandro Chediak, MD

Excellence in Education Award: James A. Rowley, MD

Young Investigator Award: Rakesh Bhattacharjee, MD

Young Investigator Award – Honorable Mention:

  • Siobhan Banks, PhD
  • Mark Brown, MD
  • Shadab Rahman
  • Irma Rukhadze, PhD