WESTCHESTER, Ill. – James A. Rowley, MD, received the 2009 Excellence in Education Award from the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM).

“Dr. Rowley is actively involved in helping patients overcome their sleep problems, as well as studying effective methods of identifying and diagnosing sleep-related breathing disorders such as sleep apnea,” said Clete Kushida, MD, AASM president. “Dr. Rowley is committed to enhancing medical students’ knowledge about the complexities of sleep disorders, and to improving the quality of life of patients suffering from this serious sleep disorder. He is an accomplished professional who has made a significant impact on the field of sleep medicine, and I congratulate Dr. Rowley on receiving the Excellence in Education Award.”
Dr. Rowley received the award on June 8 in Seattle, Wash., at SLEEP 2009, the 23rd Annual Meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies (APSS).
Dr. Rowley is an associate professor of medicine and program director of the pulmonary/critical care fellowship at Wayne State University School of Medicine. He is also the medical director of the Sleep Disorders Center at Harper University Hospital. Dr. Rowley is the chair of the AASM’s Board Review for the Sleep Specialist course and has been a member of the Education Committee since 2005, as well as chair of the committee since 2007.
Dr. Rowley received a medical degree from the New York University School of Medicine. He completed his residency in internal medicine at the University of Chicago Hospitals and a fellowship in pulmonary/critical care medicine at the Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions.
SLEEP 2009 is a four-day scientific meeting featuring an international body of more than 5,500 leading researchers and clinicians in the field of sleep medicine. 

AASM is a professional membership organization dedicated to the advancement of sleep medicine and sleep-related research.

# # #