Each year the AASM Awards recognize several leaders in sleep medicine who have made significant contributions to both the AASM and the sleep field. The AASM congratulates the following recipients of the 2013 AASM Awards:

  • Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award: Clete Kushida, MD, PhD, RST, RPSGT
  • William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award: David Gozal, MD
  • Mark O. Hatfield Public Policy or Advocacy Award: Rita Brooks, RST, RPSGT
  • Excellence in Education Award: Suresh Kotagal, MD

The 2013 AASM Awards Ceremony will take place Monday, June 3, in Baltimore, during the plenary session of SLEEP 2013, the 27th Annual Meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies LLC.