The American Academy of Sleep Medicine invites members to participate on a standing committee. Volunteer committee members provide an invaluable service to the organization and its membership by contributing to initiatives and projects that are critical to the continued development of the field. Members also gain professional enrichment through the diverse activities of a committee. 
Seven standing committees will engage in diverse activities such as developing continuing education and certification programs, creating professional standards and consulting on the creation of education materials. The mandate for each committee is on the AASM website for your information.  
Service on a committee is a one-year appointment. Members may be reappointed as a committee member on a yearly basis for a maximum three-year term, unless appointed to a vice-chair or chair position at which time an additional three-year term may be served; all committee terms take effect in June at SLEEP 2011, 25th Annual Meeting of the APSS.
The AASM has a conflict of interest policy with which all committee members must comply; interested applicants should review the Conflict of Interest Policy in advance of submitting a Committee Volunteer Interest Form.  
Members interested in serving on one of the AASM standing committees are required to complete the Committee Volunteer Interest Form, Conflict of Interest Disclosure Form and Copyright Assignment Form, which are available on the AASM website.
Please submit the Committee Volunteer Interest Form, the Conflict of Interest Disclosure Form, the Copyright Assignment Form and a CV summary, no longer than two pages, by December 27, 2010.
The materials can be sent via e-mail to, fax to (630) 737-9790 or postal mail to: 

American Academy of Sleep Medicine
Attn: Jordana Money
2510 N. Frontage Road
Darien, IL 60561

Notification of appointment or non-appointment to a committee will be sent by early February.