DARIEN, IL – The American Academy of Sleep Medicine congratulates the 52 members who constitute the 2022 class of Fellows of the AASM. Fellow standing recognizes outstanding contributions in sleep medicine, significant achievements in the field, and dedicated membership in the AASM.

Fellows must demonstrate notable achievements in the field of sleep medicine in two of three areas: scholarship, service or education. This year the AASM expanded the eligibility criteria, which previously required a doctoral degree, to include team members such as nurse practitioners, physician assistants, sleep technologists and respiratory therapists.

“I congratulate this year’s class of AASM Fellows, who represent some of the best and brightest leaders in our field,” said AASM President Dr. Raman Malhotra. “Their professional contributions and voluntary service are supporting the AASM mission of advancing sleep care and enhancing sleep health to improve lives.”

Applicants must have maintained an active AASM membership for the last five consecutive years. A review panel evaluated each application and submitted recommendations for approval by the board of directors. Fellows may include the “FAASM” designation when listing their professional credentials.

Fellows for the 2022 membership year are:

Zachary Adams, MD

Abdullahi I. Ahmed, MD

Claude L. Albertario, RST, RPSGT

Cathy A. Alessi, MD

Salma Batool-Anwar, MD, MPH

Julie M. Baughn, MD

Emily M. Beck, MD

Adam Benjafield, PhD

Rakesh Bhattacharjee, MD, DABP, RPSGT

Marietta L. Bibbs, RPSGT, CCSH

Janice F Biddle APRN, CRNP, DBSM

Saadoun Bin-Hasan MBBCh, FRCPC

Craig Canapari, MD

Jocelyn Y. Cheng, MD

Joseph Y. Cheung, MD

Loretta Colvin, NP

Daniel Combs, MD

Thien Thanh Dang-Vu MD, PhD

Thomas Dye, MD

Olabimpe S. Fashanu, MD

Constance H. Fung, MD

Stephen Glazer, MD

Sasikanth Gorantla, MD

Indira Gurubhagavatula, MD, MPH

Karen A. Hentschel-Franks, DO

Ki-Young Jung, MD, PhD

Meena S. Khan, MD

Alison S. Kole, MD

Annamaria lakovou, MD

Joyce K. Lee-Iannotti, MD

Aleksei Markin RPSG, MD, PhD

Christina S. McCrae, PhD

Marcus A. McMahon, MBBS

Edward Mezerhane, MD

Anne Marie Morse, DO

Syeda S. Munir, MD

Rubin R. Naiman, PhD

Sanjay R. Patel, MD

Bharati Prasad, MD

Winfried J. Randerath, MD

Amee Revana, DO

Rachel Marie E. Salas, MD

Kathleen J. Sexton-Radek PhD, D.BSM

Qurratul (Afifa) A Shamim-Uzzaman MBBS, MD, MS

Krishna M. Sundar, MBBS, MD

Andrew W. Varga, MD, PhD

Michael V. Vitiello, PhD

Siraj O. Wali, MD

Edward M. Weaver, MD

Jeremy A. Weingarten, MD

Joanna Wrede, MD

Kwang Ik Yang, MD, PhD

The AASM will recognize the 2022 class of Fellows during its annual membership meeting on Monday, June 6. The membership meeting will take place during the SLEEP 2022 annual meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies in Charlotte, North Carolina.

The application period for the class of 2023 will open in the fall. More information on how to become an AASM Fellow is available on the AASM website.


About the American Academy of Sleep Medicine

Established in 1975, the American Academy of Sleep Medicine is advancing sleep care and enhancing sleep health to improve lives. The AASM has a combined membership of 11,000 accredited member sleep centers and individual members, including physicians, scientists and other health care professionals.