The American Academy of Sleep Medicine congratulates Col. Jacob F. Collen, MD, FAASM, who was named the 2020 recipient of the Stuart Quan Award for Editorial Excellence, which recognizes the outstanding work of an associate editor of the Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine. He was selected by JCSM Editor-in-Chief Dr. Nancy Collop, who recognized him during the 2020 annual meeting of the JCSM editorial board, held as a virtual meeting on June 22.

Dr. Collen has been a member of the AASM since 2012. He is the program director of the sleep medicine fellowship at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland.

The Quan Award is named in honor of JCSM Founding Editor Dr. Stuart Quan, who served as editor-in-chief from 2005 – 2014. Previous recipients are listed on the AASM awards page.

The primary responsibility of associate editors is to make editorial decisions on manuscripts assigned to them by the editor. This work includes managing reviews by members of the editorial board and external reviewers, making initial publication decisions, and submitting recommendations for editorials.

The AASM is seeking manuscript reviewers for the Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine. More information is available on the volunteer opportunities page.