The American Academy of Sleep Medicine congratulates Cathy Goldstein, MD, who was named the 2021 recipient of the Stuart Quan Award for Editorial Excellence, which recognizes the outstanding work of an associate editor of the Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine. She was selected by JCSM Editor-in-Chief Dr. Nancy Collop, who will recognize her during the 2021 annual meeting of the JCSM editorial board, to be held as a virtual meeting.

Dr. Goldstein has been a member of the AASM since 2009. She is an Associate Professor of Neurology at the University of Michigan Sleep Disorders Center in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

The Quan Award is named in honor of JCSM Founding Editor Dr. Stuart Quan, who served as editor-in-chief from 2005 – 2014. Previous recipients are listed on the AASM awards page.

The primary responsibility of associate editors is to make editorial decisions on manuscripts assigned to them by the editor. This work includes managing reviews by members of the editorial board and external reviewers, making initial publication decisions, and submitting recommendations for editorials.

The AASM is seeking manuscript reviewers for the Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine. More information is available on the volunteer opportunities page.