The AASM will honor distinguished members of the sleep medicine and research community, who have demonstrated excellence in the sleep medicine and research fields through sustained contributions in the area of research, government affairs and education, at SLEEP 2006, 20th Anniversary Meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies, and is currently accepting nominations for recipients of the Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award, William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award and the Excellence in Education Award.

The Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award honors individuals dedicated to the sleep field who have made significant contributions in the areas of administration, public relations and government affairs.

The William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award recognizes members of the sleep field who have displayed exceptional initiative and progress in the areas of sleep education and academic research.

The Excellence in Education Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions in the teaching of sleep medicine. The award honors dedicated individuals who have skillfully taught and enhanced the knowledge of professional practitioners and the public in the area of sleep and sleep medicine.

To recommend an AASM member for one of these awards, please submit a letter of nomination that details the nominee’s qualifications for the award to Becky Nowlin via e-mail at or fax to (708) 492-0943 by December 31, 2005.