DARIEN, IL – The American Academy of Sleep Medicine is proud to announce the 2021 class of Fellows of the AASM, comprising 34 distinguished leaders in sleep medicine who now can use the “FAASM” designation. Fellow status recognizes outstanding contributions in sleep medicine, significant achievements in the field, and dedicated membership in the AASM.

Fellows must demonstrate special contributions to the scientific literature or notable achievements in the field of sleep medicine in two of three areas: scholarship, service, or education. Fellow applications are reviewed by the AASM Fellow Review Panel, and recommendations for Fellow status are approved by the AASM Executive Committee on behalf of the board of directors.

“I congratulate the newest Fellows of the AASM for this exceptional achievement,” said AASM President Dr. Kannan Ramar. “They join an elite group of members who are steadfast in their commitment to the AASM and dedication to advancing sleep care through clinical practice, sleep and circadian research, and education.”

Fellows for the 2021 membership year are:

  • Kunal Agarwal, MD
  • Mohammed Al-Abri, MD, PhD
  • Michael Berneking, MD
  • Matthew Brock, MD
  • Mustafa Bseikri, MD
  • Vincent Capaldi, MD
  • James Connolly, MD
  • Rachel Darken, MD, PhD
  • Ina Djonlagic, MD
  • Colin Espie, PhD
  • Kawish Garg, MD
  • Sally Ibrahim, MD
  • Muna Irfan, MD
  • Dmitriy Kogan, MD
  • Anthony Izzo, DO
  • Karin Johnson, MD
  • Bhanu Prakash Kolla, MD
  • Pei-Lin Lee, MD, PhD
  • Octavian Ioachimescu, MD, PhD
  • Brendan Lucey, MD
  • Asefa Mekonnen, MD
  • Sameh Morkous, MD
  • Shalini Paruthi, MD
  • Joshua Roland, MD
  • Scott Ryals, MD
  • Reyadh Salman, MD
  • Gilbert Seda Jr., MD, PhD
  • Arveity Setty, MD
  • Lee Surkin, MD
  • Matthew Troester, DO, MD
  • Darwin Vizcarra, MD
  • Robert Walter, MD
  • Terri Weaver, PhD, RN
  • Lara Wittine, MD

The AASM will recognize the new class of Fellows during the virtual AASM membership meeting in June. The application period for the class of 2022 will open in the fall. More information on requirements and the application process can be found on the AASM Fellow webpage.


About the American Academy of Sleep Medicine

Established in 1975, the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) is advancing sleep care and enhancing sleep health to improve lives. The AASM has a combined membership of 11,000 accredited member sleep centers and individual members, including physicians, scientists and other health care professionals.