DARIEN, IL – The American Academy of Sleep Medicine congratulates the 18 members who constitute the 2023 Fellows of the AASM. Fellow standing recognizes outstanding contributions in sleep medicine, significant achievements in the field, and dedicated membership in the AASM.

Applicants must have maintained an active AASM membership for the last five consecutive years. They also must submit two letters of recommendation and demonstrate notable achievements in the field of sleep medicine in two of three areas: scholarship, service or education.

“I congratulate the members who have earned the distinction of being a Fellow of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine,” said AASM President Jennifer Martin. “Each of them has demonstrated a commitment to excellence and has made significant contributions to the work of the AASM.”

A review panel evaluated each application and submitted recommendations for approval by the AASM board of directors. Fellows may include the “FAASM” designation when listing their professional credentials.

The 2023 Fellows of the AASM are:

Sonia Ancoli-Israel, PhD

Claudio Cardenas, MD

Joseph Castillo, RPSGT

Arvind Chandrakantan, MD

Jose Colon, MD

Danny Eckert, PhD

Brent Fisher, MBA, FACHE, FACMPE

Kevin Gipson, MD, MS

Christopher Hope, MD, MHA

Kevin Kaplan, MD

Alejandra Lastra, MD

Chuen Lee, MD

Amy Licis, MD, MSCI

Salma Patel, MD, MPH

Anita Rajagopal, MD

Michael Simmons, DMD, MSc, MPH

Robert C. Stansbury, MD

Sadeka Tamanna, MD

The AASM will recognize the new Fellows at its annual membership meeting Monday, June 5, during the SLEEP 2023 annual meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies in Indianapolis.

The application period for 2024 will start in the fall. More information on how to become a Fellow of the AASM is available on the AASM website.


About the American Academy of Sleep Medicine

Established in 1975, the AASM advances sleep care and enhances sleep health to improve lives. The AASM has a combined membership of 12,000 accredited sleep centers and individuals, including physicians, scientists and other health care professionals who care for patients with sleep disorders. As the leader in the sleep field, the AASM sets standards and promotes excellence in sleep medicine health care, education and research.