Types of Accreditation Fact Sheet

Sleep Facility Accreditation

Sleep Facility Accreditation is offered to comprehensive sleep centers that have a both a clinic, where patient evaluation and management occurs, and a laboratory, where diagnostic testing is administered through in-center sleep testing and home sleep apnea testing (HSAT).

  • Provisional Facility Accreditation – Provisional accreditation is available to new, start-up facilities, and new locations opened by an existing accredited sleep facility. It is only available to facilities that have been open for a period of six months or less. Provisional accreditation is granted for a period of six months. An application for full accreditation must be submitted within six months of the date of provisional accreditation.
    • DME Accreditation may not be applied for in conjunction with provisional accreditation. This must be added in the Provisional to Full application.
  • Provisional to Full Facility Accreditation – An application for full facility accreditation must be submitted within six months from the date of provisional accreditation approval to continue the accreditation. The facility must be open and seeing patients, for a period of 6 months, to ensure all information relative to full accreditation can be evaluated. If an application for full accreditation is submitted within the six-month timeframe, provisional accreditation will continue through the full facility accreditation review, site visit process and approval.
  • New Sleep Facility Accreditation – New facility accreditation is available to sleep facilities that have been in operation for no less than six months. New Facility accreditation is granted for five years, from the date of approval, by the Board of Directors. Facility accreditation includes accreditation for both in-center testing and HSAT.
  • Facility Reaccreditation – Every five years an accredited sleep facility must complete an application prior to the end of the accreditation term to achieve continued accreditation without delay or lapse of accreditation status, known as reaccreditation. Applications for reaccreditation are due six (6) months prior to the expiration date and will not be accepted more than ten (10) months in advance of the expiration date.
  • Special Circumstance Accreditation – A move to a new location or new physical space within the same location, requires a Special Circumstance Application to determine compliance to the standards that may be necessitated by the re-location. An Accreditation Coordinator will open an application upon receiving an official letter signed by the Facility Director indicating the new location address.

Independent Sleep Practice (ISP)

Independent Sleep Practice Accreditation is available to sleep practices that manage patients with all sleep disorders and conduct HSAT, but do not have a sleep laboratory for in-center sleep studies. Independent Sleep Practice Accreditation is granted for five years from the date of approval by the Board of Directors.

Durable Medical Equipment (DME) (Non-Medicare)

DME suppliers that provide sleep-related DME equipment to patients are eligible for DME Accreditation. This includes both free-standing suppliers and sleep facilities that provide DME equipment to their patients.

Corporate Accreditation

Corporate Accreditation is available to corporate entities that accredit multiple facilities with the AASM. This is available to entities that either own or manage five (5) or more sleep facilities. These facilities can be either Sleep Facilities or Independent Sleep Practices.