Each year the American Sleep Medicine Foundation (ASMF) provides research scientists with significant funding opportunities for sleep-related investigations, while also supporting the education and training of sleep scientists and sleep medicine specialists.  The AASM congratulates the recipients of the 2011 ASMF grants:


Physician Scientist Training Award

  • Amy Amara, MD, PhD – University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • Jonathan Lipton, MD, PhD – Children’s Hospital Boston
  • Roneil Malkani, MD – Northwestern University

ABSM Junior Faculty Award

  • Neomi Shah, MD, MPH – Montefiore Medical Center

Strategic Research Award

  • Marina Hinojosa-Kurtzberg, PhD – Biomedical Research & Education Foundation of Southern Arizona
  • Jan Polak, MD, PhD – Johns Hopkins University


These grant recipients will be recognized Monday, June 13, 2011, in Minneapolis, Minn., during the AASM General Membership Meeting at SLEEP 2011, the 25th Anniversary Meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies LLC.