The Federation of State Medical Boards (FMSB) recently announced that the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission (IMLCC) has officially launched the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, which is a voluntary, expedited pathway to licensure for qualified physicians who wish to practice in multiple states through the use of telemedicine technologies. The IMLCC is now accepting applications from qualified physicians who have a full, unrestricted medical license in these states:

  • Alabama
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Mississippi
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Currently, 18 states have adopted the compact, and eight additional states and the District of Columbia have introduced legislation in support of a pathway for license portability. According to a recent mhealthintelligence article, a dispute with the FBI over access to its criminal background check system is delaying the compact in the other states that have adopted it.

The AASM will continue to alert members as telemedicine legislation progresses.