On May 4, 2010, Oklahoma Governor Brad Henry signed Senate Bill 1985 (SB 1985), which further clarifies the qualifications for the interpreting or supervising physician caring for a patient with a sleep disorder. The language ensures that physicians providing sleep care services are highly qualified specialists in diagnosing and treating patients with sleep-related disorders.

SB 1985 amends the language in the Oklahoma Sleep Diagnostic Testing Regulation Act by requiring that the interpreting or supervising physician must be:

“board-certified in sleep medicine by the American Board of Sleep Medicine (ABSM) or the American Board of Medical Specialties or must have completed a one-year sleep medicine fellowship accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) or received a Certification of Special Qualifications (CSQ) or a Certification of Added Qualifications (CAQ) in Sleep Medicine issued by the American Osteopathic Association."