Core quality measure collaborative announces measure harmonization

On Feb. 16, 2016, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and American’s Health Insurance Plans announced a core set of quality measures to address concerns about the burdensome nature of the quality measures required under Medicare and private payers. As payments are increasingly tied to quality reporting, these core measures are intended to make the process more streamlined.

Measures were developed in seven sets:

  • Accountable Care Organizations (ACOs), Patient Centered Medical Homes (PCMH), and Primary Care
  • Cardiology
  • Gastroenterology
  • HIV and Hepatitis C
  • Medical Oncology
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Orthopedics

More details about the core set of quality measures are available on the CMS website.

2016-02-25T00:00:00+00:00February 25th, 2016|Clinical Resources|