DARIEN, IL – The American Academy of Sleep Medicine congratulates the three students selected as the winners of the 2021 AASM “Sleep is Essential” High School Video Contest, which focused on educating teens about the importance of healthy sleep.

The annual contest is open to high school students in the U.S. who have permission from a parent or guardian and approval from a sponsoring teacher at their school. Entrants had to submit an original video communicating in 60 seconds or less the message that sleep is essential for teens. The AASM received 89 valid video submissions from students across the U.S. Entries were evaluated for originality and video quality, as well as appropriateness, relevance, and accuracy. Each winner received a monetary prize split evenly between the student and his or her school.

“I congratulate these three teens for creating such entertaining and informative videos,” said AASM President Dr. Kannan Ramar. “I thank all of the participants and their teachers for raising awareness about the importance of sleep for teen health and safety, and I hope their efforts will further promote healthy sleep in young adults.”

Each submission was reviewed by the AASM Education Committee, which selected the first and second place winners and five candidates for the third place Teen’s Choice Award. A judging panel of 11 teens reviewed the five nominees for third place and selected the Teen’s Choice Award winner. This panel comprised teen Youth Ambassadors who are a part of the Youth Media Council for the National Organizations for Youth Safety (NOYS), a coalition of youth-serving organizations and government agencies working together to address health and safety issues that affect youth in the U.S.

Along with a balanced diet and regular exercise, sleep is one of the pillars of a healthy lifestyle. Getting the sleep that your body needs is essential for your health, well-being, and mood. The AASM recommends that teens between 13 and 18 years of age should sleep 8 to 10 hours per night on a regular basis to promote optimal health.

First Place ($1,000)

Trinity Klomparens, 12th grade
Amy Klomparens, teacher
Christian Language Center Co-Op
Arlington, WA

Second Place ($500)

Priya Agarwal, 11th grade
Sandy de Grije, teacher
Westridge School for Girls
Pasadena, CA

Teen’s Choice Award ($250)

Bree Hollis, 11th grade
Jessica James, teacher
Christ Episcopal School
Covington, LA

Visit the AASM High School Video Contest webpage for more information and to view winning videos from previous years.

About the American Academy of Sleep Medicine
Established in 1975, the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) is advancing sleep care and enhancing sleep health to improve lives. The AASM has a combined membership of 11,000 accredited member sleep centers and individual members, including physicians, scientists and other health care professionals.