Each year at the SLEEP Annual Meeting, the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) recognizes members of the field who have made indelible professional contributions to sleep medicine.

This year members are invited to nominate colleagues who have shaped the field through their service and achievement in the areas of academics, public policy and education for the Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award, William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award, Mark O. Hatfield Public Policy Award, and AASM Excellence in Education Award; members also may nominate themselves. A description of each award is below.
All nominations and supporting materials must be submitted for the consideration of the Nominating Committee by Friday, Jan. 8, 2010. Each submission must include an abbreviated candidate biographical sketch adapted from the NIH format, the name of the award for which the member is being nominated, and a one-page letter of recommendation. Please submit your nomination materials by the deadline to Jordana Money by e-mail at jmoney@aasm.org or by fax at 708-492-0943.
Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award
Established in 1981, the Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award honors individuals dedicated to the sleep field who have made significant contributions in the areas of administration, public relations and government affairs.
The research of Nathaniel Kleitman, one of the world’s eminent sleep scientists, formed the foundation for many areas of current sleep medicine, including REM sleep, circadian rhythms and the effects of drugs on sleep. Through his inventiveness and achievement, Dr. Kleitman has left a vast impression on the sleep medicine field.
William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award
The William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award, established in 1994, recognizes members of the sleep field who have displayed exceptional initiative and progress in the areas of sleep education and academic research.
The award’s namesake, William C. Dement, MD, PhD, is one of the nation’s leading sleep researchers. His extensive publication of research, work with REM sleep, and development of the Multiple Sleep Latency Test greatly advanced the sleep medicine field. The William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award embodies the pursuit of knowledge, a commitment to teaching and an unceasing quest to disseminate truth.
Mark O. Hatfield Public Policy Award
The Mark O. Hatfield Public Policy Award, established in 1996, acknowledges an individual who has developed public policy that positively affects the healthy sleep of all Americans. This contribution is unique, yet vital to the advancement of the field.
Retired U.S. Senator Mark O. Hatfield (R-Ore.) has continually supported sleep medicine initiatives and policy. His work on behalf of the field has been instrumental in increasing NIH funding for sleep, increasing public awareness of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), establishing the National Center on Sleep Disorders Research, and supporting nationally recognized sleep disorders research at Oregon Health Science University. Sen. Hatfield also chaired the transportation appropriations subcommittee, where he introduced the driver fatigue initiative, which passed in 1995.
AASM Excellence in Education Award
The Excellence in Education Award is presented to those individuals who have made outstanding contributions in the teaching of sleep medicine. The award serves to recognize and honor dedicated individuals who have skillfully taught and enhanced the knowledge of professional and lay people in the areas of sleep and sleep medicine.